Fishing laws in Maine are strict to conserve fish populations for future generations of anglers. The state deposits revenues generated from these licenses in a special trust fund to support of fish and wildlife in Maine.
An increase in the number of fishermen translates to an increase in the amount of pressure on natural resources. In a bid to assess and manage the pressure on fish population, the state employs fishery biologists to design effective fish management plans – and fishing licenses are one of them.
Who Qualifies for a Fishing License in Maine?
Licenses are sold to residents, non-residents, servicemen, and people with disabilities. A license applicant is required to be at least 16 years of age or more to fish or transport fish from Maine’s inland waters. Any person who is 12 to 15 years can fish without the license.
If you are a resident, below are some requirements you need to meet:
Non-Residents and Aliens
There are 1-day, 3-day, 7-day, and 15-day fishing licenses for non-residents to choose from.
A non-resident who is 18 years or older and below 24 years enrolled to a full-time college or university in Maine can apply for a resident license for fishing, hunting, and trapping.
This should be obtained from the main office in Augusta.
People Over 70 years
Residents over the age of 70 years can get complimentary Maine fishing licenses. They can apply for it at any time of the year that they are turning 70, without having to wait for their exact birth date. This license does not expire.
People with Disabilities
A veteran with service-related disabilities needs a special letter from the Veteran Administration proving that he or she has a service-connected disability.
Paraplegic people can get a physician’s statement certifying their loss of extremities.
Blind Maine residents with 16 or more years are also eligible to apply for a fishing license. To qualify, tests are run to prove that their acuity for distant vision is below 20/200. Their widest field of vision diameter subtending an angle should also be equal to or less than 2 degrees.
A mentally handicapped Maine resident is also eligible to apply for a Maine fishing license as long as they have a psychologist’s certification. This should prove that the applicant has completed a general intelligence test as stipulated by the Department of Mental Health.
Any person serving in the Armed Forces and placed permanently at a Maine military base is eligible to apply for a Maine fishing license, regardless of whether they are permanent residents or not. Their spouses and children can also get the license if they are living in Maine.
Types of Fishing Licenses in Maine
There are a number of fishing licenses to choose from:
To qualify for this license, you must to be a permanent Maine resident. This license allows anyone who has met the eligibility criteria to catch all fish species and hunt legal game.
The superpack license is inclusive of the crossbow, muzzleloader, pheasant, migratory waterfowl, bear, coyote night hunt, and spring/fall turkey hunting. It also comes with three extended archery antherless permits and one free entry into the yearly any-deer permit lottery.
Investing in a lifetime Maine fishing license will allow you to fish, trap, or hunt in Maine for the rest of your life, regardless of where you will live in the future.
Apart from fishing, the license is inclusive of bear, pheasant, migratory waterfowl, coyote, spring and fall turkey, muzzleloader, and crossbow hunting. You also will get one expanded archery deer permit and one expanded archery either-sex permit.
Most Commonly Asked Questions
Here are some commonly asked questions about getting a Maine fishing license. We hope these questions and answers can help you out.
How Long is a Fishing License Valid in Maine?
Irrespective of the month the annual fishing license is issued, it expires on 31st December of the same calendar year. The lifetime license does not expire.
Where You Can Purchase or Renew a Fishing License in Maine?
A Maine fishing license can be purchased or renewed online from the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife. You also can buy it in person from a fishing license agent near you. Some of the credible license vendors include turnpike service centers, town clerks, sporting goods shops, and even convenience stores.
Please note that while most of these vendors have fishing license options for residents, not all issue non-resident licenses.
What are the Provisions for Fishing License Holders in Maine?
As a fisherman in Maine, you are required to have your Maine fishing license every time you are catching or transporting fish. The license should be produced when required by a warden, guide, department employee, or a landowner. An online license copy is acceptable.
How Much Does a Fishing License Cost in Maine?
Maine fishing license fees for residents and non-residents differ. Below is a summary of fishing license charges in Maine without agent fees.
- Fishing charges for people above 16 years: $25.00
- Fishing and archery: $43.00
- Fishing and hunting: $43.00
- Fishing for one day: $11.00
- Resident serviceman hunting and fishing: $3.00
- Resident serviceman dependent fishing and hunting: $20.00
- Superpack: $201.00
- Duplicate license: $2.00
Non-Residents and Aliens
- Alien season fishing: $84.00
- Alien hunting and fishing: $191.00
- Fishing charges for people above 16 years: $64.00
- Fishing and hunting: $150.00
- One-day fishing: $11.00
- Three-day fishing: $23.00
- 7-day fishing: 43.00
- 15-day fishing: $47.00
- Duplicate: $2.00
The 15-day non-resident Maine fishing license could be switched to a non-resident season license by paying an extra $17.00 and the agent fee.
How Much is a Lifetime Fishing and Hunting License in Maine?
The lifetime license fees vary depending on the applicant’s residence and age.
5 years and Below
- Fishing: $150.00
- Hunting: $150.00
- Trapping: $150.00
- Archery: $150.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery: $150.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery: $400.00
6 to 15 years
- Fishing - $300.00
- Hunting - $300.00
- Trapping - $300.00
- Archery - $ 300.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $500.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $800.00
- Fishing - $50.00
- Hunting - $50.00
- Trapping - $50.00
- Archery - $ 50.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $80.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $110.00
- Fishing - $40.00
- Hunting - $40.00
- Trapping - $40.00
- Archery - $ 40.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $64.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $94.00
- Fishing - $30.00
- Hunting - $30.00
- Trapping - $30.00
- Archery - $ 30.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $48.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $78.00
- Fishing - $20.00
- Hunting - $20.00
- Trapping - $20.00
- Archery - $ 20.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $32.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $52.00
69 years and above
- Fishing - $10.00
- Hunting - $10.00
- Trapping - $10.00
- Archery - $ 10.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $16.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $26.00
5 years and below
- Fishing - $450.00
- Hunting - $450.00
- Trapping - $450.00
- Archery - $ 450.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $750.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $1,200.00
6 to 15 years
- Fishing - $900.00
- Hunting - $900.00
- Trapping - $900.00
- Archery - $ 900.00
- Any two of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $1500.00
- Any three of fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery - $2400.00
Getting Your Maine Fishing License is Easy
If you are a Maine local with more than 70 years, you can pay a onetime $8.00 fee to get a lifetime fishing, hunting, trapping, and archery license. In case you had purchased the lifetime license prior to turning 70, you will not be required to cater for the $8.00.
Also, all residents and non-residents operating motorized boats on Maine’s inland waters should have their Lake and River Protection sticker and a current boat registration sticker properly displayed when fishing.